My Grandparent’s Anniversary

At exactly 6:00pm my Uncle, Aunt, Mother and Grandmother sent balloons up into the sky to celebrate my Grandparent’s anniversary. The only one missing was my Grandfather, who had died in May of 2015. The only thing I could think of was this saying by Morrie Schwartz, “Death ends a life, not a relationship”. That “This is part of what a family is about, not just love. It’s knowing that your family will be there watching out for you. Nothing else will give you that. Not money. Not fame. Not work”. I stood there snapping photos while I saw how heartbroken she truly was as she realized she would not be celebrating her anniversary with her husband. She was so grateful that we were there to celebrate it with her. The thing is, we almost did not go.

Leave a Reply

